Free shipping on orders over $39!

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How is your Molino Flour gluten free if it contains wheat?

A: This is our most common question. The allergy to wheat and gluten-free eating are completely separate. Someone can be allergic to wheat and still eat gluten, and someone can be gluten-free but still be able to eat wheat as long as the gluten has been removed.

Our Molino Flour is gluten-free because the base is made from wheat starch that has had the gluten removed.

The process involves making a dough from the wheat flour and rinsing out the starch. The wheat starch will dissolve in the water while the gluten protein does not and sinks to the bottom. The water with the dissolved wheat starch is then evaporated leaving the wheat starch behind. This process is repeated until the wheat starch has been made gluten-free.

Q: Okay, but how do I know that Molino Flour which is made from gluten-free wheat starch is safe for me?

A: Gluten-free wheat starch has been a common ingredient in gluten-free foods in the United Kingdom and the European Union for almost 20 years. In 2013 the FDA allowed wheat starch to be labeled as gluten-free as long as the gluten content was lower than 20 parts per million (ppm), in line with their other gluten-free regulations. 

Research in 1999 and 2003 has also found no evidence that gluten-free wheat starch harm people with celiac disease. The two studies were conducted by the Department of Medicine, Tampere University Hospital in Finland.

It is important to note that each person should educate themselves and ask their doctor before making a decision.

Q: How is Molino Flour tested to insure that it is gluten-free?

A: Currently our manufacturer is certified gluten-free through through the CSQA, an Italian auditing agency, showing a gluten level equal to or less than 10 ppm. The manufacturer also has results from DFSDietary Food Solutions, that show a gluten level of less than 10 ppm.

In addition we test every one of our shipments with Elisa Technologies to ensure that the gluten is below 20 ppm. So far, every test result has shown the gluten level to be significantly lower than 20 ppm, and we will never sell any product that does not meet these standards.

In the near future we hope to receive a gluten-free certification from an agency here in the United States.

Q: What are the ingredients for Molino Flour?

A: Wheat starch (deglutinated) EU origin, rice flour, rice starch, dietary fiber (psyllium, potato), thickener (E464), humectant (E420).

The certified gluten-free wheat starch has been processed to allow this food to meet the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requirements for gluten-free foods.

Q: Is Molino Flour non-GMO?

A:Yes! Our gluten-free flour is made from non-GMO wheat that is sourced from the European Union.

Q: Does Molino Flour have any allergy information?

A: Yes, those with an allergy to wheat, soy, and sesame should not use our flour.

Q: Is Molino Flour kosher?

A: Yes, we have kosher certification from the Bedatz Eidah HaChareidis.


If you have any other questions please feel free to use our contact form or email us at